Honduras will propose the Gulf of Fonseca as a Ramsar site for the conservation of sea turtles

Honduras will propose that the Gulf of Fonseca, which shares the Pacific with El Salvador and Nicaragua, be declared site of the Convention on Wetlands of International Importance (Ramsar) to safeguard sea turtles, officials said.

“We are proposing to declare the Gulf of Fonseca as a trilateral Ramsar site. If approved, it would be the initially on the planet to see if we join efforts for sea turtles, “the director of Biodiversity Secretariat of Natural Resources and Environment of Honduras, Rafael Amaro Garcia.

The representative made ​​the announcement during a break of the Tenth Meeting of the Scientific Committee of the Inter-American Convention for the Protection and Conservation of Sea Turtles (CIT), which was installed this week in Tegucigalpa with the presence of technicians and scientists from fifteen countries.

Garcia added that El Salvador and Nicaragua are not members of the CIT, although they do have Ramsar sites, so that through the second instance the three countries would reach work on joint safeguarding turtles.

“The sea turtle has a wide distribution and conservation have to do it in the same state of amplitude, are highly migratory species, say that they go throughout the Pacific coast and the Caribbean and in international waters,” stressed Garcia.

Garcia also stated that if the Gulf of Fonseca were to declare Ramsar site, El Salvador, Honduras and Nicaragua would reach “have too much technical and scientific support” at the same time that the region could be transformed into “a pilot project for the planet.

Among the factors affecting sea turtles include the use of its eggs in the Pacific, while in the Caribbean primarily pursued the hawksbill species to use its shell crafts and eat his flesh, said Carolina Montalvan, a Honduran environmentalist .

The Ramsar Convention brings together 172 countries in the world, while CIT is built only fifteen.

Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, USA, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama, Peru, Mexico, Uruguay, Venezuela and the Netherlands are parties to the CIT, while Nicaragua is to deliver the instrument national reaffirmation with the Government of Venezuela, which operates as the depositary of the Convention.

Source | EFE